02
Apr
09

Featured JAMer: NansGlam

NansGlam Today, I’d like to introduce you to our next featured Jewelry Artisans’ Market member: Nancy of NansGlam


Q: Tell us a little about yourself, the personal side.

A:  My name is Nancy Trujillo. I was born and have lived my entire life in Southern California. I’ve been married to my wonderful husband for 32 years and we have two awesome grown children; a son & daughter and two grandchildren. Recently retired, I now spend most of my free time doing what I am passionate about and that is creating jewelry and spending quality time with my family. If I am not designing or creating jewelry, then I am out hunting and gathering beads I can’t possibly live without to use in one of my future pieces.

Q:  Tell us how you became a jewelry artist. What started it all?

A:  About seven years ago I decided to take a beading class at a local bead store. Little did I know that when I took that first class I would be hooked! I couldn’t get enough of it, learning new techniques, subscribing to every beading magazine that was printed, and experimenting with what I learned. I now teach beading designs and techniques regularly at that same store. It is so rewarding to be able to help fellow beaders learn new techniques and designs and to meet so many wonderful people that have the same addiction as me!

Q:  Do you remember your first creation?

A:  It was a wire wrapped bracelet named “Cha- Cha” and it was my very first beading class. I made three more that same week!

Q:  What inspired you to start a business? Pearl Medley Necklace

A:  I had been selling my jewelry locally for over four years and after much encouragement from family, friends and clients, I decided to expand on-line. Also

Q:  Tell us about your business: your first event where you sold, your first online, brick & morter, etc.

A:  Three of my friends hosted a jewelry open house for me at one of their homes. It was catered with wonderful food and wine, etc. We had music and I had one full room in her home with 4 tables set up with all my jewelry. It was a big success. I have numerous repeat clients from that original open house. I opened my Etsy shop in May and started listing items at the beginning of June 2008. When I heard about 1000Markets I was thrilled to open up a shop here in October and have been adding creations ever since.

Q:  What is your favorite medium to work with?

A:  I don’t really have a favorite since I find myself jumping from different metals, stones repurposing vintage components and using so many different techniques. If I had to choose, I guess it would have to be working with vintage components which excites me to be able to repurpose these lovely treasures from the past.

Caramelized Champagne BraceletQ:  How did you hear about 1000 Markets?

A:  I am a member of the California Crafters Club Of Etsy and several of the members started talking about this wonderful new venue. I joined in October and love it.

Q:  1000 Markets is still evolving, but tell us about your favorite feature so far.

A:  I love the different unique markets and feel it offers a wonderful shopping experience for the consumer. It is like going into a custom home development and looking at all the wonderful homes; each with a character of its’ own and is unique and different. Each potential client who drives through just goes “Ooh, or Ah or Unbelievable!!” That is what I find myself saying every time I “explore” the markets in 1000Markets!

Q:  If you could have one wish granted for 1000 Markets, what would it be?

A:  I would love to have a shipping profile that I could apply to all my items at once, rather than having to edit each item individually. I am looking at the future postage rate increase.

Thank you Nancy!  That was very inspirational!  Please visit Nancy at NansGlam!

2 Responses to “Featured JAMer: NansGlam”


  1. April 2, 2009 at 6:10 PM

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. June 1, 2009 at 7:44 PM

    Enjoyed reading about Nancy of NansGlam. The “personal side” is a nice touch.
    ~ Jill Q


Leave a Reply

